Kudos and Orbital Photos

I’m excited to report that my image, “Moody River,” was selected as a finalist in the 2011 Fine Art Photography Exhibit at the ArtSpace Gallery in Herndon, Virginia. The exhibit and reception are free to the public and I hope all my Virginian friends will take the opportunity to visit and see my work. The exhibit will run from March 1 to the 27th.

I urge my Eastern Shore friends to visit the Dorchester Center for the Arts where the 2011 Member’s Show is now open and will continue until February 26th. You still have time to see it, if you haven’t already done so. My image, “Orbital Daisy” received an Honorable Mention in the creative category. I am pleased that several of my colleagues from the Wednesday Morning Artists Group joined me in receiving an honor. Congratulations to Kay Jones, Lisa Krentel, and Pat Novella Hayes. I was in great company!

You’ve seen “Moody River” before, but I’m displaying “Orbital Daisy” for you below.

Orbital Daisy

Orbital Daisy, 8 x 8 inches
© 2011 Fran Saunders

Isn’t this an interesting effect? I learned about it from a Better Photo newsletter. Here are the steps involved:

  • Crop your image to an 8-bit square photo.
  • From the Photoshop menu, navigate to Filter/Distort/Polar Coordinates and click. Check “polar to rectangle” and then click “ok”.
  • Back to the menu, navigate to Image/Image Rotation/180 degrees and click.
  • Then again navigate to Filter/Distort/Polar Coordinates. This time check “rectangle to polar” and then click “ok”.

That’s all there is to it. Check it out. This is lots of fun, although you may have to play around a bit to find an appropriate image.

All right, on to other business. What would you all like to talk about next? Do you have a special topic you would like me to discuss? Do you have something you would like to share with my circle of listeners? Let me know…

About Fran Saunders

I am a photographer located on the beautiful Eastern Shore of Maryland, where I live with my husband and my Yellow Lab, Sam.
This entry was posted in Kudos, My Art, Post-Processing. Bookmark the permalink.