Give in to Your Touchy-Feely Self

When I think of “touchy-feely” things, I always wind up thinking about textures.  Textures play a big role in photography.   Texture is a major compositional element that gives depth and detail to images.  Texture can be part of a larger subject or the subject of your photo itself.  When I think of texture, I always think of images that combine color, pattern and detail, and in my case, these images usually stand alone.  Some are close-up shots, many are abstracts, but all depend on the combination of detail, color and pattern to provide interest.  I am going to be spending a good deal of time exploring this topic and showing you examples of my work, as appropriate.

But before we begin, I want to mention a growing trend in photography.  This trend uses texture to enhance “normal” images, by providing a subtle background of texture by combining two or more images.  I have been experimenting with this type of texture as well and will share my discoveries with you later on.

So, do you need a special camera or photographic equipment to take images which focus on texture?  Not necessarily is the answer.  Some equipment may make your life easier, but is not required.  A macro lens or macro feature on your camera will let you get in closer to grab those details.  I also find that I need to turn to manual focus in order to get a tack sharp texture image, so this will help.  A tripod is always good to have, especially for those situations when the light is low or when angling the camera may need to shake and blurry images.  I use McClamps and Plamps, to hold small items in just the right light or position.  If you’ve never seen or used these, you don’t know what you are missing.   These helpful gadgets are clamps with flex arms that can be attached to stationary objects or staked into the ground. 

Okay, then, take a look at a texture subject (part of a leaf) that I shot at the Adkins Arboretum last October and get ready to give it to your own “touchy-feely” self.  We’ll continue our journey next week.  Have a good one, all!     

"Winterizing"

Winterizing, 12 x 8 inches
© 2010 Fran Saunders

About Fran Saunders

I am a photographer located on the beautiful Eastern Shore of Maryland, where I live with my husband and my Yellow Lab, Sam.
This entry was posted in Camera Techniques. Bookmark the permalink.