Smoke Art

Sometimes you need to go off in strange and new directions to explore some creativity in your art.  Over the last couple of months I have experimented with “smoke art.”  What, do you ask, is smoke art???  Well, it’s capturing smoke in an interesting arrangement.  No, we do not suggest you take up smoking!  I use incense sticks.  They smell better and are easier on your health!  Okay….this photo was captured with an off camera flash arrangement.  The flash and camera are linked to a remote and both set off at the same time.  I set the flash underneath where I think the smoke will fall, autofocus and then set to manual so the autofocus doesn’t continue to run and ruin my shot.    My shutter speed is about 1s on the camera and 1/8 on the flash, but you will need to play with your adjustments until you get it right.  This is very much a hit and miss experiment.  I took many, many shots that went into the can.  Afterwards, I colored the smoke in Photoshop.  Some of the successful shots were very much diabolical!  I think people see many different things into the smoke, which makes it all the more intriguing.  At first glance this image suggested a butterfly, but if you look closely you can see…   Hey, tell us what you see! 

Smoke Art

Electric Butterfly. 10 x 15 inches
©2010 Fran Saunders

If you’d like to know more about the post-processing of this image, let me know.

About Fran Saunders

I am a photographer located on the beautiful Eastern Shore of Maryland, where I live with my husband and my Yellow Lab, Sam.
This entry was posted in Camera Techniques, Inspiration, My Art. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Smoke Art

  1. Lin Layton says:

    That is so very cool!

  2. Thanks, Lin. It’s pretty easy to set up, but a little frustrating in operation. The results are utterly awsome, though!

Comments are closed.