Kudos Monday

I am incredibly blessed this wonderful Monday morning.  Over the last week I received three favorable notifications from photo competitions I entered.
©
The first was conducted by Maryland’s Department of Natural Resources (DNR), where my “Moody River” shot took second place in the outdoor recreation section and will appear in DNR’s 2011 calendar.  I’m including it here for you to see.   This photo was taken from the grounds of the Cambridge Yacht Club on a very foggy morning.  I was much taken with the lonely sail boat swaying here and there and took several shots.  This is my favorite since it captures what I felt that day, but I needed to beef up the sky in Photoshop to give it more appeal.

Moody RIver

Moody River, 8 x 12 inches
© 2009 Fran Saunders

Next, I was told by the North American Nature Photographer’s Association (NANPA) that one of my showcase entries, “Waterworks,” made the semi-finals.  Showcase is NANPA’s annual photo contest and very competitive.  Semi-finalists comprised about 23% of over 3,000 entries.  “Waterworks” is very dear to my soul since it, along with Beached I, were my very first contest wins back in 2007 at the Dorchester Center for the Arts.  You can see both on my website at www.fransaundersphotography.com.

Lastly, the photo that graces my blog, “Follow the Leader,” was juried into a competition entitled, “Dogs, Dogs, Dogs,” and will be exhibited at the 1650 Gallery in Los Angeles, CA.  This exhibit will include an auction of images for the benefit of “Dogs without Boundaries,” an animal rescue organization.  This image of Sam and my husband Norm was taken at a park in West Ocean City when I was looking for silhouette opportunities.  Both were up on a hill with the sun behind them…perfect placement for a silhouette, reading the exposure from the sky which overexposed the figures.  The cropped pano was meant to level the interaction between the dog and man.  You could almost say, “Who’s the leader here?”

Have a good one and don’t forget to share your thoughts about these images!

About Fran Saunders

I am a photographer located on the beautiful Eastern Shore of Maryland, where I live with my husband and my Yellow Lab, Sam.
This entry was posted in Kudos, My Art. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kudos Monday

  1. john Barclay says:

    Congrats Fran! Well deserved. The posted image is SUPURB!

  2. Thanks so much, John. I’m glad you like it. It says what a I REALLY think about most Mondays! : )

Comments are closed.