Kudos to Sam

Missed talking to all of you while I took a short vacation.  Today’s note is all about Sam, my sweet Yellow Labrador Retriever.  Sam was selected to grace the July page of the Bide-a-wee 2011 calendar.   I’ve included a shot of the winner portrait entitled, “The Patriot.”  Now, isn’t he just the cutest dog?  I can’t take too many bows for the many excellent photographs I’ve taken of him, since he is extremely photogenic and relatively easy to photography (when he’s not restless!).  Bide-a-wee is a very prominent animal welfare organization in New York, my home town.  Last year, Sam was chosen for the November page and also made the cover.

For those of you looking to take photographs of pets, start by trying to capture them in interesting poses or with unusual facial expressions, shooting at eye level, for that intimate feeling.  Later you can branch out to taking photos from different perspectives and viewpoints, which could show a unique side of the animal and it’s relationship to you.  I like head shots best, but I think I focus on this just a bit too much and am now attempting to get full body shots of Sam. 

The Patriot

The Patriot, 8 x 12 inches
© 2007 Fran Saunders

We are currently planning his annual Christmas card image, stay tuned for that later on in the year.  Tomorrow I will share with you a fun image that I hope you will enjoy.  So look for the surprise in the morning.  Right now, Sam, Norm and I want to thank everyone who voted for Sam’s Bide-a-wee entry!

About Fran Saunders

I am a photographer located on the beautiful Eastern Shore of Maryland, where I live with my husband and my Yellow Lab, Sam.
This entry was posted in Kudos, My Art. Bookmark the permalink.