Art or Junk?

I took several online courses with Bryan Peterson, the well-known photographer and author of several photography books.  He has urged me to seek out junk yards and other places where you can find wonderful abstracts and interesting pattern shots.  While out walking with my husband and the dog (yet, again!) we all strolled through some of the local marinas.  I took several photos of objects I found, but spent most of my productive time working an old and rusting boat trailer.  The inside of the roller was very colorful.  The blend of color and the textures made me think of a heavy oil painting.  It was my favorite shot of the day.  In the art world, these types of subjects are sometimes called found art…that is, art found in something that is not ordinarily thought of as artistic.  I let you be the judge of whether this one makes the grade.  So, how about it, out there, is this junk or art?

Junk Art

Trailor Roller, 8 x 8 inches
© 2010 Fran Saunders

About Fran Saunders

I am a photographer located on the beautiful Eastern Shore of Maryland, where I live with my husband and my Yellow Lab, Sam.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, My Art. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art or Junk?

  1. Lin Layton says:

    As someone who spends hours shooting old houses, old windows and their attached rusting stuff, I think it’s art. But maybe I just have eyes for the old lives.

  2. Lin, I think you know I feel the same way about the gracefully aged! There’s just such a beauty that comes through. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Comments are closed.