Deja Vu?

Happy Monday!  As you look at the photo posted here, you will surely recognize it from one I showed you not too long ago.  Sometimes, after living with a photo for awhile, I feel like it needs something different, or, maybe I just want to play with it a bit more post-processing.  With this image, I wasn’t sure the total black background of the original was the best for it.  I knew I wanted something with texture and color, but certainly didn’t want to overwhelm the leaf.  First, I needed a new backaground.  The texture I was looking for had to have a small and fairly inconspicuous pattern.  I settled on a portion of a concrete block and photographed that in open shade.  Next, I turned to color.  I wanted to stay within this red-orange/green color scheme, which is quite a dynamic one in the realm of art and design, and tried various shades of both colors until I found this shade of green, using the hue-saturation tool, that appeared to blend nicely with the leaf.  With both the original image and the new background open in Photoshop CS5, I selected the entire new background, copied it, and pasted it into my original as a new layer.  Then I turned off the old black layer and rearranged my layers so that the new background was, indeed, in the background.  The original leaf was by itself on a transparent layer, which made it easier to change backgrounds.  I would love to know how you feel about these two images.  Which one makes you look twice?  Drop me a line and let me know!

Leaf Image -- Revised, 8 x 8 inches
© 2010 Fran Saunders

About Fran Saunders

I am a photographer located on the beautiful Eastern Shore of Maryland, where I live with my husband and my Yellow Lab, Sam.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, My Art, Post-Processing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deja Vu?

  1. MJ Russell says:

    Fran, I agree the first image was a bit more dramatic, but the black background was pretty strong. I enjoyed reading about your processes — artistic thought, as well as Photoshop techniques. Thanks for sharing!

Comments are closed.